Hey i wanna meet Bourdain before i die lol,

If you don’t know who Anthony Bourdain is , his…its hard to explain. To cut it short his basically a chef whose been in the business for twenty plus years. After writing the critically  acclaimed Kitchen Confidential he became a very successful writer, becoming notorious for his sharp wit and blunt truthfulness. He is also probably more well known for his run as presenter on the program No Reservations and the newly aired The Layover, translating his writing into what is my opinion televisual gold. He travels the world, he eats everything, and basically verbally slays everything he thinks sucks and wraps the whole package up with a sentimental ending.

When i started my first year of university I think No Reservations was in its 2nd or 3rd season (now in its 8th or 9th). It would be on at a riducolusly late early hour of the morning, and as i was going through a semi incomniatic phase…it was a perfect match. I used to watch the show pretty religiously, and always felt that he communicated the place he travelled to well (even though laying down alot of unapologitic bias).

As the years went on i continued to watch the show and actually became a pretty big fan of the travel Channel in general (still to this day). It seems that in the last year Bourdain has blown up especially in Syndey amongst people my age. This to me seems weird as something that i watched in my pyjamas at an unhealthy 3:30 in the morinng was now alot of peoples favorite show. Though it makes me happy to know at least people are watching something about travel and isn’t..whats the word? shit? (though to be fair i am the biggest fan of shit television and movies).

I would like to meet Borudain before I die, I don’t think I’d cry or anything, probably just take a photo with a gang sign thrown up. Maybe even offer him a crack rock or something (though he has been clean for over a decade now? maybe a macaroon instead?).

And heres a few of his best moments and episodes.

And probably the best episode of all time, this is pure unadulterated Bourdain ever.

Also his favourite band is The Ramones (he brings it up alot..ALOT). I don’t know that many Ramones songs at all but this is my favourite.

FOOD DVWG